The Faithful Scribbler

A Catholic Mother In A Secular World

36 Hours Til Thanksgiving Dinner

on November 24, 2010

It is 11pm on Tuesday night. T-36 hours until I serve turkey (yeah, we’re eating super early because we like to do our own family feast, but then we have several people to see afterwards).

Little Scribbler just walked out of her bedroom, took one look at me, coughed a few times, and then promptly vomited everything she’s eaten today all over the carpet. And I knew three hours ago that it was going to happen.

I can always tell when I’m about to get sick– I feel hot and sweaty. I went to bed around 630 PM tonight because I KNEW this stomach bug was on it’s way– my uncle has it, half LS’s preschool class has it, and I felt weird earlier. So now that Little Scribbler has confirmed my theory, and I’m just sitting here pondering if I should go to bed and try to sleep until my OWN barfing commences, or if I should stay awake as long as possible to listen in case LS gets sick again. Plus, if I go in to bed, I could risk getting the Auditor sick, in which case I am COMPLETELY HOSED because there will be no one to take care of LS and I tomorrow. Whereas if I let him sleep, he will be all fresh and sunshiney in the morning, thereby having no excuse NOT to take care of us :)

Unless of course The Auditor is actually Patient 0, and it was HE who brought this plague upon our house 36 hours prior to the feasting…in which case I may murder him in his sleep anyway.

If we’re all busy throwing up, who’s going to cook the turkey!?

Happy Holidays!
–The Faithful Scribbler

2 responses to “36 Hours Til Thanksgiving Dinner

  1. Patrick says:

    Howdy,

    Under these circumstances MURDERmay ba crime? But I don’t think it would be a sin.

    Get well soon,

    God’s continued Blesings,

    Pat

  2. Penny says:

    Hope your Thanksgiving went well.

Leave a Reply

