The Faithful Scribbler

A Catholic Mother In A Secular World

‘Tis the Season…

on November 1, 2010

…of swollen joints and chronic aches.

Blessedly, my lupus (SLE) has been in complete remission for about six years now. Even so, every year when the weather changes, and the cold damp air starts rolling in, I get some swelling and achiness in my shoulders and knees.

This year has been pretty bad, and I’m starting to doubt the remission, so now I’m contemplating finding a new rheumatologist, before The Auditor changes our health insurance plan next month.

(This, “youcanonlymakechangesonceayear” health insurance stuff is really quite a lot of pressure! I feel like I need to peek into the future before we make changes, or else be held hostage by the higher premium. I wouldnt have thought we’d have two major surgeries last year, but we did, and it crushed us financially, so how can you ever know?! At best, we’re winging it when we pick a plan. Taking the less expensive plan with higher copays seems like a good idea, but is it really!? Who can know?! A girl can never win.)

For the past three days I’ve been a puffy, primarily couch-ridden, mess. My shoulders, elbows, spine, knees and ankles are killing me, for reasons unknown. I have not done any heavy lifting in recent memory (does heaving LS in and out of her car seat count!?), nor have I preformed any amazing and death defying feats of acrobatics. I AM carrying around a little extra weight, but that’s certainly not a new circumstance (whatever happened to that diet plan anyway!?) so I doubt my chubaliciousness is the culprit behind the discomfort.

On top of the delight that is my body these days, Little Scribbler is battling her first bout of Preschool Plague of the season– she’s fevery, runny nosey, coughy, and misbehave-y.

We at the Casa de Scribbler are indeed falling apart.

In slightly more exciting news, I just finished re-reading The Year of Living Biblically by AJ Jacobs, and will be reviewing it for you fine folks later in the week!

On that note, the Faithful Scribbler is hobbling off to bed, to nurse her aching elbows, lament the state of her checking account, and attempt to sort through the health insurance charts I’ve been perusing these past two days. A parting thought–

Tomorrow is a new day, with no mistakes in it yet!

(bonus points if you can name the literary reference).
(additional bonus points if you know which character spoke the line).

3 responses to “‘Tis the Season…

  1. Rainbow says:

    Anne Of Green Gables!!!!!!!!! What do I WIN?!!!!

  2. Kristy says:

    DING DING DING!!!! Excellent Rainbow! Additional bonus points available if you can name the character who said it (not Anne– Anne merely repeated it later in the series).

    As for what you win, well, seeing as how it’s you and I know you in real life too, I’ll surprise you by mail, lol!

  3. Patrick says:

    My dear friend;

    Crosses are made by God….

    Try to keep in mind that BOTH Angels and Saints also “wing it.”

    Love and prayers,

    Pat

Leave a Reply

