The Faithful Scribbler

A Catholic Mother In A Secular World

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

on September 9, 2010

…in my head at least!

With Little Scribbler starting school this week, it has suddenly and randomly dawned upon me that she is finally going to be old enough to start understanding the things I’m trying to teach her about God and church and religion and the meaning of life.

Which got me thinking that this year, she’ll probably understand about Christmas!  Don’t get me wrong, she has DEFINITELY understood about PRESENTS these last two years, but that’s not really the same thing as understanding about Christmas.

Last year we got her a Fisher Price Little People Nativity set.  She didnt much care for the lambs that came with it, so instead we had dinosaurs kneel down to worship the baby Jesus.  She also replaced Joseph with the Daddy doll from her dollhouse.  The concept of Jesus being a baby, and Christmas being about celebrating his birth, was completely lost.  But this year, I think if we tell it like a storybook story, she might grasp the concept!

We’re also planning to celebrate the entire 12 days of Christmas this year, lasting from December until January 6th.  I discovered too late last year that there are awesome traditions from all around the world that take place on each of those 12 days and I’m really excited to start creating family traditions this year that she will remember as an adult.  I’ll probably do a whole series of posts about the 12 days and everything that I’ve learned :)

I know that liturgically we are still in Ordinary Time, but my mind just keeps flying straight to Advent!  I want to bake cookies together now that Little Scribbler is big enough to help. I want to cut down a Christmas tree in the miserable cold and make the Auditor drag it all the way back to our car.  We’ve already started planning our holiday travels (and since everybody lives all spread out across the eastern seaboard, this is no small feat!) and penciling in where we will be each weekend in December.

In keeping with the spirit of the season (and in the best interest of not incurring debt!) I am going to be handmaking many gifts this year. I’ve actually already started on a few of them that I’m quite excited about!  (Briefly I entertained the delusion that I am skilled enough to make my own jam to distribute– then I woke up from that daydream and remembered that I actually kind of suck at all things culinary).

So my dining room table is splattered with festive holiday items and I’m already planning where to put the tree in this tiny livingroom.  I’m up late making lists and marking calendars and getting really jazzed about sharing the holiday season with my little family this year.  LS is going to really love it!!

2 responses to “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

  1. NCSue says:

    It’s a bit early for Christmas in our house, but we don’t have a Little Scribbler to think about, either. It must be exciting to anticipate watching her truly learn the meaning of Christmas!

  2. Patrick says:

    What a joy it is to share your joy and excitement!

    May God continue to shower you with peace, love and understanding.

    Love and prayers,
    Pat

Leave a Reply

