The Faithful Scribbler

A Catholic Mother In A Secular World

A Parent’s Prayer

on August 6, 2010

I have perhaps a bit more insecurity as a parent than I think is probably normal or healthy.  A little bit of that comes from parenting a child someone else birthed– YankeeFan entrusted me with this blessed little soul to love and nurture, and I don’t want to let any of us down!

When we moved here, and I discovered that our parish has a Parents’ Prayer group, I got pretty excited.  I’ve been sort of floundering about how to teach Little Scribbler about Jesus in an age appropriate way.  I was really looking forward to meeting other faith sharing families and seeing how they might be teaching their children.

Little Scribbler and I attended our first meeting on Wednesday of this week.  It was AWESOME! (aside from minor misbehavior on the part of Little Scribbler).  The woman who leads the group shared with me the following prayer, which I intend to memorize.  It sums up so perfectly and articulately what I have been feeling and struggling with lately– particularly as LS ages, and learns the precise combination of attention-seeking behaviors that push Momma’s buttons!

The Parent’s Prayer

O Heavenly Father, make me a better parent.

Teach me to understand my children,

To listen patiently to waht they have to say,

And answer all their questions kindly.

Keep me from interrupting them or contradicting them.

Make me as courteous to them as I would have them be to me.

Forbid that I should ever laugh at their mistakes,

Or resort to shame or ridicule when they displease me.

May I never punish them for my own selfish satisfaction,

Or to show my power.

Let me not tempt my children to lie or steal,

And guide me hour by hour that I may demonstrate by all I say and do that honesty produces happiness.

Reduce, I pray, the meanness in me,

And when I am our of sorts, help me, Lord, to hold my tongue.

May I ever be mindful that my children are children,

And I should not expect of them the judgement of adults.

Let me not rob them of the opportunity to wait on themselves and make decisions.

Bless me with bigness to grant them all their reasonable requests,

And the courage to deny them privileges I know will do them arm.

Make me fair and just and kind,

And fit me, O Lord, to be loved and respected and imitated by my children.

Amen.

3 responses to “A Parent’s Prayer

  1. Patrick says:

    Sorry it has taken me so long to discover this beautiful prayer….

    THANKS fo sharring it Scribler,

    Love and prayers,
    Pat

  2. Patrick says:

    Sorry it has taken me so long to discover this beautiful prayer….

    THANKS fo sharring it Scribler,

  3. michelle says:

    I needed that today. It’s been a struggle lately! Perfect for starting our school year. : )

Leave a Reply

