The Faithful Scribbler

A Catholic Mother In A Secular World

I’ve Been Slacking, But I’m Back In the Game!

on May 26, 2010

Well ladies and gentlemen, I’ve been slacking this past week.  As you’ll note from previous posts, there is much upheaval ongoing at the Casa de Scribbler as we wait (on baited breath…literally) to find out if we’re moving to Maryland.  We’ve been so consumed with thoughts of packing, househunting, school hunting for Little Scribbler, and other such mundane details, that I have been a Super Slacker in regards to my daily research on Scripture and Church history.

Then this afternoon I recieved an email from Pat, some of which I will reproduce here, which for some reason slapped me back to the here and now and served to clear my head (ish) and refocus my thoughts!  I’d been sidelined, but I’m off the DL and back in the game! (I want brownie points for the sports reference).

So the email Pat sent contained a back and forth exchange, which aswers the question “Should Catholic Tradition have equal authority with the Bible”.  The answer to the question can best be summarized in these words (which I THINK are Pat’s) which are not mine:

The idea that anyone can hold a position contrary to the Biblical teaching of the Catholic Church is false. It is a position built on a foundation of QUCIKSAND. No one part of the Bible can or does contradict another part of the Bible; when it is properly understood, and properly quoted.
 
Such a position is formed from either a lack of understanding, omission, alteration, or in rare cases; on a lie. We can judge the “fruits” or lack there off, but not the motives.

This, in and of itself, wasn’t really what caught my attention.  I sorta knew that part already :)  The following Scriptures, however, really broke through the hazy fog I’ve been operating in the past few days:

2 Tim. 4: 3-5 “For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own likings, and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander into myths. As for you, always be steady, endure suffering, do the work of an evangelist, fulfill your ministry.”

2 Thess . 2:13-15 But we ought to give thanks to God always for you, brethren, beloved of God, for that God hath chosen you firstfruits unto salvation, in sanctification of the spirit and faith of the truth 14 “Whereunto also he hath called you by our gospel, unto the purchasing of the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ. 15 Therefore, brethren, stand fast and hold the traditions which you were taught, whether by word or our epistle. 15 Therefore, brethren, stand fast: and hold the traditions, which you have learned, whether by word or by our epistle”

1 Cor. 11 2: 2 “I commend you because you remember me in everything and maintain the traditions even as I have delivered them to you”
 
2 Thess. 3: 6-7 “ Now we command you, brethren, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that you keep away from any brother who is living in idleness and not in accord with the tradition that you received from us. For you yourselves know how you ought to imitate us; we were not idle when we were with you,”

John 21: 24-25 “This is the disciple who is bearing witness to these things, and who has written these things; and we know that his testimony is true. But there are also many other things which Jesus did; were every one of them to be written, I suppose that the world itself could not contain the books that would be written.”

Whew!  With regards to the divisions amongst Christians in the world today, not only did God ‘see it coming’, He told us time and time again how to  follow Him in light of these divisions!  He tells us OVER AND OVER again how important Church Tradition is– and He even outlines for us IN the Scripture that we should be following other things NOT written in the Scripture! 

The wheels are turning once more, in the dusty old brain of the Faithful Scribbler.  I am at a loss for how anyone can reject the Catholic Church.  I really REALLY can not understand how any person could reject the Truth, unless s/he was ignorant of what the Scripture said…and the real head-scratcher here is that most people I encounter who vehemently reject the Church ARE fairly well-versed in the Scripture… 

So in a word– yeah, Pat’s right of course– the Church tradition will NEVER contradict the Scripture, and as is explicitly stated in the Scripture itself, is of equal importance.  God says so!  He also explicitly warns us to stay away from those who reject the Tradition, because they will lead us astray.  I also agree with his assessment that those who DO find the Tradition to be in contradiction with the Scripture probably have a poor understanding of what it means.

That poor understanding is likely through no fault of their own, rather, I propose that the poor understanding is the result of lack of guidance in reading it.  When you compare translations you’ll find VERY different meanings to those passages that good old Heretic Martin Luther “edited”.

We always end up right back at this place, don’t we?  Martin Luther changing the divine Word of God and subsequent generations falling farther and farther away from Truth.  I hold fast to my contention– Martin Luther’s very existance was MOST  unforutunate…

2 responses to “I’ve Been Slacking, But I’m Back In the Game!

  1. Pat says:

    Folks,

    Now you can see for yourself why I LOVE the Scribbler Family so much.

    They actually listen to what I have to say.

    I don’t expct everyone to agree with me, BUT its a real treat when you know someone is paying attention!

    Way to go Scribbler; and extra points allowed for the sports reference : )

    Love and prayers,
    Pat
    working4christ

  2. Kristy says:

    LOL of course I’m listening!

    What I dont know, is what to do ABOUT it. I have another commentary I’m going to post tomorrow morning from the Wednesday night prayer group I go to, which indrectly touches on this very topic.

    Sometimes the ducks line all up in a row…

Leave a Reply

